Issues with tier hierarchy and tier type

I am preparing a somewhat complex hierarchy for coding multiple, embedded factors in a recorded interview. I have copied it below, with the proposed tier type in brackets next to each tier.

I am new to ELAN, but this seems like an efficient hierarchy for isolating factors via structured searches to produce statistics after coding. All tier types aside from “Speech” and “Language mixture text” would have their own CVs, as there are defined options for each factor.

When I try to assign a child tier to a parent with a different tier type, my options for child tier type disappear. To be specific: the “Speech” tier has its own type “SPEECH”, but no CV because it is transcribed text. Some annotations on this tier can be assigned to a “Language ideology type”, the first child tier, which has its own tier type “LI_TYPE” with a 5-item controlled vocabulary.

However, I can only apply the tier type “LI_TYPE” to the corresponding tier if it is not the child of “Speech”. Does this mean parent and child tiers must have the same tier type? Since CVs can only be assigned via tier type, this seems wrong. I have read through the manual and watched various instructional videos, but I can’t seem to figure this one out.

• Speech [SPEECH]
    • Language ideology type [LI_TYPE]
  • Language mixture text [LM_TXT]
    • Language mixture type [LM_TYPE]
      • Insertion type [INS_TYPE]
        • Insertion establishment [ESTABLISHMENT]
          • Insertion integration [INTEGRATION]
            • Complexity of determiner phrase [COMPLEXITY]
              • Gender of determiner phrase [DP_GEN]
                • Gender alignment of determiner phrase [DP_GENA]
            • Verb phrase type [VP_TYPE]
            • Complexity of adjective phrase [COMPLEXITY]
            • Complexity of discourse marker [COMPLEXITY]
            • Complexity of bare noun [COMPLEXITY]
              • Number of bare noun [BN_NUM]
      • Calque type [CAL_LS_TYPE]